Costa Rica is a free and independent democratic republic. It has a popularly-elected and representative government with three independent powers: the executive, the legislative, and the judicial powers.

The Executive Power is comprised of the President of the Republic, two Vice Presidents, and a Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president. The President of the Republic is both the Head of Government and the Head of State.

The Legislative Power is comprised of 57 representatives democratically elected by the populace. These representatives from the Legislative Assembly.

Finally, the Judicial Power is comprised of the Supreme Court of Justice and the different lower courts, tribunals, and judges throughout the country; they are in charge of upholding justice in the country.

Additionally, the country is divided into seven provinces, which are in turn divided into 81 cantons. Each of the cantons has an independent municipal administration; these are lead by a major and a popularly-elected municipal board.